About Us

The Dublin Games Guild is a wargaming club based in Gamers World in Dublin city centre. We meet on Wednesdays from 6pm onwards. We have dozens of members who play a huge ranges of games Warhammer 40,000, ,Warmachine/HORDES, 15mm, historical etc. Come join us any time or email us on dgg@gregfarrell.org to arrange a game

Sunday, 10 November 2013

40K raw & rai

As we all know very well 40k is full of rules that are not very clear on how there meant to work, this can happen in different ways & the rule I'm going to look at here has as I see it two problems.
I'll begin with what got me thinking about this certain rule in the first place.

Also now I've a question about deathleaper's "what was that?" rule. Enemy units moving through difficult terrain roll 1 less dice than normal. Now if Deathleaper is being charged through difficult terrain, does the enemy unit then roll 2d6 as he has to roll 1 less dice than normal and then discard the highest as per the rules for assaulting through difficult terrain? Raw that seems to be the case. This case isn't mentioned in the Tyranid FAQ either.

The question above was asked by a mate of mine & is what I like to call getting into gray areas of the rules, now when I first read the question & looked up the rules I was inclined to agree with him from a raw point of view.

Then I got to thinking about it & became less sure,we start by looking at the rule what was that.

What was that, all enemy infantry units within 12" of deathleaper roll one dice less (to a minimum of one)when moving  through difficult terrain.

Now as I said there are two problems with the one above, the first one is how do you read the rule, does it only work in the movement phase or those it work every time you move ? or does it only work when you move like you do in the movement phase ? the second problem only happens if the rule is every time you move.

As at this point I've no way of know what was meant I need to look at the rule book to try to fine out, we can take it that the rule works in the movement phase.

Running movement is not slowed by difficult terrain but models running through dangerous terrain must test as normal. 
To run you roll a d6 but what would happen if the unit had a rule that let it roll more then one dice ? does it mean that because the unit is not effected by difficult terrain that deathleapers rule doesn't apply ?
By raw you would have to say that if the rule applies to all movement then the rule comes into effect.
Rai is of no use here as I don't know what was intended.

Next assault,All of the models in the charging unit their charge up to 2d6 following the same rules as in the movement phase.
If when charging one or more models have to move through difficult terrain the unit must take a difficult test, the units rolls 3d6 rather then 2d6 & uses the two lowest results as it charge range.

So how would this work with deathleapers rule, raw might lead you to believe that you only roll 2d6 & take away the highest or it might lead you to believe that you roll 2d6 but don't take way any & why do you get this problem ? because the rule is from a book that was for 5th ed not 6th.
But if it means that I don't roll 3 dices does it mean I still have to take one away as you could ague that I've already taken one away.
What about rai ? well the big problem with rai is the old how do you know what was intended ? it just so happens that if you have the 5th ed rulebook you can use it to help, as by using that we can see what was intended.

The rule only works against infantry models, now it just so happens that a infantry model could only move up to 6" in any of the above phase, which means that the intent of the rule was to lower the probability of you moving 6" not to reduce how far you can move, so what does that mean ?

Well if you believe that deathleapers rule works in all phases you could say well what about a unit of infantry falling back ? are we now to believe that deathleapers rule is to help your opponent out ? for my own part I  believe that the rule only works in the movement phase & as a nid player have only ever used it in that phase.

Even this doesn't really help as falling back & running (unlike a unit in the assult phase) doesn't say that the unit follow the same rules as moving, so are they both different types of movement & not effected by deathleapers rule ?

But if you think it works in all phases then do you need to be 100% sure of how the rule works before you try to use it & as there is no clear answer from a sporting point of view & gaming point of view I don't see how you can use it in the assault phase as there is no real way without an FAQ to know how this rule works.

With a new nid dex out soon this rule might not be an issue soon but until then I don't really think there is a popper answer to it, so what do you guys think & if you believe you know how it works could you please tell us in the comments section.

Thanks for reading & feel free to leave a comment.

No comments:

Post a Comment